Inaugural “Hall of Fame” Award Given to Taylor’s Professor for his Outstanding Contribution to THE-ICE

Professor Perry Hobson was awarded the inaugural “Hall of Fame” award by THE-ICE hospitality and tourism accreditation body in recognition of his outstanding personal contributions.

(L-R) Prof Hobson receiving the Hall of Fame Award from Dr Craig Thompson, the Deputy-Chair of THE-ICE at WAI, Melbourne, Australia

The International Centre of Excellence in Hospitality and Tourism Education (THE-ICE) accreditation body has awarded its inaugural ‘Hall of Fame’ award to Professor Perry Hobson the Pro-Vice Chancellor for Global Engagement at Taylor’s University.
THE-ICE is the leading international accreditation body for hospitality and tourism education, (with institutional members in some 15-countries - such as Australia, Switzerland, The Netherlands, Austria, Fiji, the UAE, Thailand, The Philippines, and Italy amongst others.  He received the award for his continued and outstanding support to the organisation over some 15-years. He initially served as a member of the Advisory Board of THE-ICE from 2003-2005 (when it was started as an initiative of the Australian Federal Government), he then became its Director and CEO from 2006-2011 (transforming the organisation into an international accreditation body, and since then has been elected to serve on its Board of Directors.  Dr Eva Werner, the Rector of IMC Krems (Austria) and Chair of the Board of Directors, thanked him for his “continued and sustained personal commitment to THE-ICE”.
The Award was given by Dr Craig Thompson, the Deputy-Chair at the International Panel of Experts Forum (IPoE) 2017 which was event held at William Angliss Institute in Melbourne (Australia). As he commented, “The Board of THE-ICE recognises Fellows for their contribution to industry and academe, but the ‘Hall of Fame’ award was started to recognise those individuals who have provided ‘outstanding individual support’ to the organisation”. Prof Hobson said that he was “very touched to have received such a recognition from his peers and my colleagues within THE-ICE”. Taylor’s University is an accredited member of THE-ICE, and hosted the IPoE Forum at the Lakeside Campus in 2011. To find out more about the internationally accredited and world ranked Faculty of Hospitality, Food and Leisure at Taylor’s University click here - (Global Matters 2017)