The EMAS Award rewards academic staff for innovation in teaching.
EMAS Stands for Exemplary Meritorious Academic Staff and also means “gold” in Malay. Accordingly, each nomination is thoroughly reviewed and measured using these criteria by an impartial panel:

  1. Innovation on Pedagogical Practices
  2. Impact of Innovation
  3. Transferability
  4. Continuous Improvement


  • Mr Serit Banyan, School of Liberal Arts and Sciences (The Transformation of Ethnic Relations module: Face to Face to Participatory Open Online Course)
  • Ms Puteri Sofia Amirnuddin, Taylor’s Law SchooL (Augmented Reality Learning: The Way Forward to Learn UK Land Law)


  • Dr Hoo Chin Lih, School of Engineering (Learning with the Interactive iBook)
  • Dr Vandana Saxena, School of Liberal Arts and Sciences (Wheels within Wheels: The Crucible on Twitter)


  • Dr Wong Seng Yue, School of Computing and IT (Adopting Features of Gamification and storytelling for the teaching and learning process via Prezi)
  • Ms Yeoh Siok Hoon, School of Biosciences (Enhanced Self-Directed Learning Using ReWind On the Go and Classroom/Outside Classroom Activities)
  • Dr Kandappan Balasubramaniam, School of Hospitality, Tourism and Culinary Arts (Use of iPad and apps to create a new dining experience in the training restaurant -going as i-Restaurant)
  • Dr Mah Siau Hui, School of Biosciences (Engaging students through effective e-marking solution and TIMES)
  • Dr Nurzihan Hassim, School of Communication (Hands-on Learning through Interactive & Collaborative Tools)


  • Ms Pat Chan Lai Ngo, School of Liberal Arts and Sciences (Live Statue Exercise)
  • Mr Tee Wee Jing, School of Computing and IT (Energizing a technical subject class using Nearpod to support BYOD)
  • Mr Simon John Williams, Taylor’s Centre of Languages (Wikispace as a Classroom Teaching Tool)
  • Mr. Terence Tan Teck Ming, Taylor’s Business School (Engaging e-content via TIMES and Mind-Mapping)


  • Dr Adeline Chia Yoke Lin, School of Biosciences
  • Dr Goh See Kwong, Taylor’s Business School
  • Chandra Sakaran Khalid, Taylor’s Business School and Hardip Singh Rekhraj, School of Communication
  • Dr Veronica Ng Foong Peng, School of Architecture, Building and Design and Dr Logendra Stanley Ponniah, School of Education
  • Dr Mary Vivien R Gomez, School of Medicine
  • Mr Lim Chee Leong, e-Learning Academy and Taylor’s Business School